Three Days, Three Quotes: Day Three

rules

(1) Thank the person who nominated you

(2) Post a quote for three consecutive days

(3) Nominate three bloggers each day

I can’t believe I made it this far *gasps dramatically* Three consecutive posts is no easy feat (unless you prepare all three in one day and auto-post it throughout the week. Like I did, I guess). But hey, I reached the third day so let’s end this with joy and bliss and love~

stars.jpg

“It was as if that great rush of anger had washed me clean, emptied me of hope, and, gazing up at the dark sky spangled with its signs and stars, for the first time, the first, I laid my heart open to the benign indifference of the universe. To feel it so like myself, indeed, so brotherly, made me realize that I’d been happy, and that I was happy still. 

crowd.jpg

“For all to be accomplished, for me to feel less lonely, all that remained to hope was that on the day of my execution there should be a huge crowd of spectators and that they should greet me with howls of execration.”

The Stranger is my soul book. I don’t know why the most depressing books attract me, but this book and I, we had a connection. I haven’t even talked about its first line (a thing of simple beauty). This line, however, powerfully concludes the novel as Mersault embraces both life and death– its inevitability and indifference– alone.

That is a awful quote! That’s just too sad! I know, I know. How could I praise such a quote!? To make it up to you, I’ll just put this one over here and lastly, tag a few more people.

“Multiple exclamation marks are a sure sign of a diseased mind.”

–Terry Pratchett

I tag you pips!!!

Lipsyy @ Lipsyy Lost and Found

Chachic’s Book Nook

Ashley @ Socially Awkward Bookworm

And thanks again to Hey, Ashers! for tagging me in this fun little thing. I enjoyed reading your comments and bookish quotes as well! To the next time!

 

4 thoughts on “Three Days, Three Quotes: Day Three

  1. The quote gave me actual goosebumps. Judging from that, I’m not sure I’m ready to read the book; I’m maybe too susceptible to grim, depressing books, and avoid them whenever possible. But I’ll keep The Stranger in mind if I ever need a powerful (and powerfully depressing) read.

    Frankly, I think you win the Three Quotes competition; your quotes are the best, so everyone else might as well just give up. Your gold medal and tiara will be in the mail shortly, I’m sure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

