Seasons of Book Blogging Tag

Do you know how long I have waited to get tagged in these thingies? Like, every time a blogger posts an -insert name here- tag/award, the little hand in my brain waves around, whispering loudly, I exist guys. Tag me.

And someone did! I was nominated ages ago (just a month ago actually, I’m just overreacting) by Trashaan @ Bookidote. Check the link for their lovely and eye-catchy blog. Thanks to these two, I finally got my lifelong dream of asking myself bookish questions and answering these aforementioned bookish questions myself :p A big clap to the creator of this tag, J. Bookish, as well.

Anyway, here it is~

HERE IS THE: SEASONS OF BOOK BLOGGING TAG!

RULES AND REGULATIONS:

  • Thank the creator (so she can see all of your answers!) and the person who tagged you.
  • Begin with the month in which you have been tagged and move forward from there!
  • State the best gift you’ve ever been given after you answer the question for your birthday month.
  • Tag whomever you’d like when you’re finished.. or else you’ll be “it” forever.
  • Have fun, of course!


april

APRIL IS A SPECTACULARLY ORDINARY MONTH. NAME A BOOK THAT WAS SO OVERHYPED THAT IT JUST COULD NOT LIVE UP TO YOUR EXPECTATIONS.

968

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown. Apparently, a bunch of priests setting the book afire couldn’t make this book less controversial. And boring. I have never felt so indifferent reading a book before. And I loved Angels and Demons. The Da Vinci Code was an okay book but I’ve seen far more fascinating things. Take this pumpkin for example.

now that’s an interesting pumpkin

may

MAY IS THE MONTH WHEN THE FLOWERS START TO BLOOM. NAME A BOOK THAT WAS A PLEASANT SURPRISE TO YOU.

15745753

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. I skipped school just to finish this fluffy, cuddly book. I didn’t think I’d like it so much enough to miss my classes.

JUNE

JUNE IS THE TIME TO TAKE A BREAK. NAME A BOOK OR GENRE THAT YOU LIKE TO READ WHEN YOU JUST NEED TO CHECK OUT.

Discworld by Terry Pratchett. Whenever I need a good laugh and a feel-good but insightful read, a dose of Discworld shall set things right. Otherwise, you’ll find me reading Harlequin romances and angsty YA.

Now, as June is my birth month– state the best gift you’ve ever been given after you answer the question for your birthday month.

My laptop! I don’t have the picture of my lappy right now but we’re totally growing strong for about a year. We have overcome lots of hardships together. Now that is a relationship goal.

JULY

JULY IS THE TIME TO CELEBRATE YOUR INDEPENDENCE! NAME A BOOK THAT MADE YOU SEE FIREWORKS. (FIGURATIVELY. PLEASE DON’T LIGHT BOOKS ON FIRE.)

13152282

The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict by Trenton Lee Stewart. I’m skipping To Kill a Mockingbird for awhile and gush a bit about this book. Have you ever felt so awed with  a novel that it gave you goosebumps; that you see flashes of light out of nowhere? This was one of the first books, besides TKM, that made me experience that. It was an inspiring book about, not just growing-up, but kindness, friendship and courage. It’s so big for a middle-grade book and I’m glad I got the chance to read this novel. It definitely made me grow wiser.

Special mentions to The Shadow of the Wind by Carloz Ruiz Zafon, and the Discworld novels– A Monstrous Regiment and Night Watch especially, and most of all, the Umineko series by Ryukishi. These novels rocked my world.

AUGUST

AUGUST IS THE HOTTEST MONTH OF THE YEAR. PICK AN UP-AND-COMING AUTHOR THAT YOU THINK WILL BE THE NEXT HOTTEST THING.

Andrzej Sapkowski, author of the Witcher Novels. I’m not too updated with new authors but I have a strong feeling that Andrzej Sapkowski’s Witcher novels will begin getting some hype soon, especially when a new novel is about to be released. He’s not exactly new but his novels are starting to gain recognition overseas and I could see his name booming in the next months.

SPET

SEPTEMBER IS TIME FOR STUDENTS TO GO BACK TO SCHOOL! PICK A BOOK YOU READ FOR SCHOOL THAT YOU ACTUALLY ENJOYED

13480861

May Day Eve by Nick Joaquin. During highschool, we did ferocious lessons on Filipino Literature and the Bible, both of which I am ashamed to admit I slept throughout (I was a juvenile back then and often relied to the internet during writing assignments), so, um, I could barely remember what happened in those two (except for the Bible though; I practically grew up with it). It’s not until in my third year of college when I started taking literature seriously. I took Filipino lit once more and that’s where I discovered Nick Joaquin and simply adored May Day Eve.

OCT

OCTOBER IS TIME TO CELEBRATE HALLOWEEN! PICK ONE CHARACTER THAT YOU WOULD LOVE TO DRESS UP AS FOR HALLOWEEN.

The Little Prince

NOVEMBERNOVEMBER IS THE MONTH WHEN WE’RE REMINDED OF HOW MUCH WE HAVE TO BE THANKFUL FOR. CHOOSE ONE BOOK YOU’RE GRATEFUL FOR HAVING READ AND GIVE A SHOUT-OUT TO THE PERSON WHO RECOMMENDED IT!

1232

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. Huge thanks to Irish, a classmate and old friend from one of my classes who showed me the book two years ago. It was only this January when I decided to try it out (you can imagine my lifestyle) and fell inlove. She was also the one who recommended the Discworld novels to me! I could always rely on her when I need of a good book.

DECEMBERDECEMBER IS A TIME WHEN FRIENDS AND FAMILIES COME TOGETHER AND CELEBRATE. NAME ONE BOOK YOU WOULD GIVE AS A GIFT.

16299

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. Of course I’ll give them a book with mass murder in it. BBC did it.

JANUARYJANUARY BEGINS A NEW YEAR. NAME A RESOLUTION YOU MADE THIS YEAR AND IF YOU’VE KEPT IT OR NOT!

I had to find my New Years Resolution Post (yes, in caps) in my blog and discovered that I have only succeeded on one item in the list (which is blogging, um). I don’t even remember making these resolutions and creating a blood pact of parkour and caricatures with you guys. I am so fucked.

FEBFEBRUARY IS THE MONTH FOR RELATIONSHIPS. NAME YOUR FAVOURITE BOOK RELATIONSHIP: ROMANTIC, PLATONIC, OR FAMILIAL, YOUR CHOICE!

Fitz and the Fool (Realm of Elderlings by Robin Hobb). We have two men in the most intimate friendship ever. We can read about these two guys hugging, kissing (on foreheads, duh), and whispering I love yous to each other without blemishing it with something as overrated as romance. It’s a totally healthy friendship between men, like, it’s fine as it is, right?

‘If you insist we must both take different names now, then shall call you Beloved. And whenever I call you that, you may call me Fool.’

Totally shipping these two bros.

MARCH

MARCH IS THE MONTH FOR LUCK AND NEW BEGINNINGS. NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT YOU WOULD LIKE TO RE-EXPERIENCE AS IF YOU’D NEVER READ IT.

47989

Night Watch by Terry Pratchett. There’s no real problem about re-experiencing this one. Every time I read The Night Watch, it always feels like I’m reading it again for the first time. It’s a book that withstands time and I’m not even overreacting here. It’s a classic.

Special mention to Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman and The Man Who Walked into The Pub by Martha Grimes. Awesome novels that I’d like to relive again.


Now, I tag:

Yvo @ It’s All About Books

The Orang-Utan Librarian

Chrissireads

Bookwormgirls123 @ Every Book You Need to Read About

Sarinalangerwriter @ Cookie Break

Xxertz @ Fiction is My Addiction

Lauren @ The Laurenest

 

 

18 thoughts on “Seasons of Book Blogging Tag

  1. You’re right this is an awesome tag! I’ve done it once before- but I’ excited to do it again- thanks for tagging me 🙂 Oh gosh I hated Da Vinci Code too!! Such a rubbish book- and an awful ending! Yes! Pratchett is so good for a laugh!!! Gosh I loved Shadow of the Wind too! Amazing post!!! 😀

    • Yeah. It’s as if Dan Brown wanted to get his ungodly fanfictions about the holy grail out of his system. I don’t even remember what happened in this book, just that I felt absolutely nothing after reading it.

      TerryP always makes my day hahaha

  2. I’m so glad this was your first tag! That’s exciting for me (: Funny story, And Then There Were None was actually required reading in my seventh grade English class! My teacher was awesome.

  3. Well, if you ever feel like doing another tag, consider yourself tagged from me in EVERY single tag I already did on my blog 😛
    I’m so glad to hear Eleanor & Park was a surprise to you. I really loved that book, it was so cute, and so heartbreaking, and just, so, GREAT. One of my favorites. great answers! 🙂

  4. Oh my gawd. Amazing! Thank you so much for doing this tag. I love how you bashed on The Da Vinci Code (I have the whole series waiting for me and I can’t wait to find out why it’s popular yet also hated). I also can’t wait to read The Shadow of the Wind. That book sounds so amazing! 😛

    – Lashaan

Leave a Reply

