WWWoW – Strange Novels. Just an Inch Strange.

What are you currently reading?

5196764

The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

A writer’s story comes true..??

It seems my hang-over reading The Watcher in the Shadows never vanished, so now I’m reading Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s second book~ I’m just afraid I won’t like it as much as The Watcher in the Shadows because it certainly set the bar too high. We have the Sempere & Sons cameo though, and that enough could make my heart jump (and damn how it did).


What did you recently finished reading?

27003Thursday Next: The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde

A strong female heroine tries to catch a super villain who thought it a great idea to kill characters from novels. It was.

 Aaaarghh. What the hell were you thinking Fforde?! What the hell?! Eyebrows were raised while reading this book. I’m not sure what to think about it at all. It’s horribly written but really fun to read. Thursday is bland as much as Acheron is amusing. The story is all over the place and some chapters are better left out. I have a lot of issues about this book but enjoying it is not one of them. This is so confusing.


Waiting on Wednesdays

Okay. I decided to put WWW and WOW together since I couldn’t follow-up with the books that I intend to read. Something always comes up that deems far more important to read, so, instead, I’ll post here the books I want to read.

26883552

The Emperor’s Railroad by Guy Haley

Global war devastated the environment, a zombie-like plague wiped out much of humanity, and civilization as we once understood it came to a standstill. But that was a thousand years ago, and the world is now a very different place.

Conflict between city states is constant, superstition is rife, and machine relics, mutant creatures and resurrected prehistoric beasts trouble the land. Watching over all are the silent Dreaming Cities. Homes of the angels, bastion outposts of heaven on Earth. Or so the church claims. Very few go in, and nobody ever comes out.

Until now…

Expected publication: April 19, 2016

Post-apocalyptic stories are always good reads; this is why I’m wondering I don’t read much of them. This one looks weird enough, and I don’t think I’ve ever read a post-apocalyptic book with zombies, monsters and angels.


13 thoughts on “WWWoW – Strange Novels. Just an Inch Strange.

  1. I vaguely remember reading the Thursday Next series a number of years ago and really enjoying it. I don’t recall issues with the writing but you’ve made me curious and I’m tempted to re read now and see if I feel the same about it.

    • It kept cramming a lot of info that did not progress the book, I think. Despite my problems with it, I still did enjoy it, particularly because the villain was so much fun.

    • Oh yes you should. The second book feels far more bleaker wherein The Shadow of the Wind have lighter moments.

      The Eyre Affair is bearable whenever Acheron pops out. A sophisticated morally evil, vampire-ish villain who could go through walls and whose great evil plan is to kidnap characters from famous novels?? Why the heck not?

  2. Ohhh I’m planning on picking up Carlos Ruiz Zafón’s books again soon! I’ve been wanting to reread La Sombra Del Viento for ages and it’s about time I read the sequels. I hope you’ll enjoy it!

  3. I hope you like ‘The Angle’s Game.’ I loved ‘The Shadow of the Wind’ so I hope the sequel is thrilling. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

