It came from the woods. Most strange things do.

18659623

SYNOPSIS

Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.

These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.

Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there… (Goodreads)


Oh, but you must travel through those woods again and again… said a shadow at the window… and you must be lucky to avoid the wolf every time…

But the wolf… the wolf only needs enough luck to find you once.”

Through the Woods is a series of short stories written and illustrated by Emily Carroll. The graphic novel touches horror shorts that brings to mind Grimm’s fairytales for their simple yet fun, twisted stories. With illustrations, each page is always a delight to turn.

What I like about Through the Woods is 1) it’s varied art styles 2) its varied horror subgenres. The former—it doesn’t stick to the same art. Each story has a different kind of style, from solid colors to contrasting ones, from brushes to charcoal pencils. The latter—it covers all sorts of horror from Gothic stories to fairy tales to superstitions and Lovecraft. If you check out Emily Carroll’s website, you’ll see more of her horror-themed works.

81CR6Dx-2LL

Okay. Since it’s undeniably a horror novel, is it scary? I have to admit, the easiest way to scare me is through cheap jump scares (and watching people chase other people with pointy object and making small talk with human beings). I think graphic novels are awesome mediums for horror but I have to say that pictures do not terrify me as much as plain words where I am free to imagine the darkest of horrors. Emily Carroll did a great job translating the stories through visuals but reading them aloud, I discovered, was a far more terrifying experience than simply ‘looking’ as the stories are really effective creepers. I loved both the art and stories, but I found myself more fascinated to the art than scared

Nevertheless, Through the Woods is a beautifully crafted graphic novel that could serve as a nice, cozy bedtime story about wolves and murder. Go buy it.

The Verdict: Four out of Five Hunny Pots

zTXo96kec

zTXo96kec

zTXo96kec

zTXo96kec

 

 

 


Check out these works of Horang for a good scare:

 


About the Author:

My name is Emily Carroll, and I was born in June of 1983. I grew up in London (Ontario) but moved to Vancouver for work after graduating Sheridan College’s Classical Animation program. I have since moved back to Ontario, and now live in Stratford with my wife, Kate Craig. We have a very large cat. Website | Twitter

 

4 thoughts on “It came from the woods. Most strange things do.

Leave a Reply

