Eight Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough/In A While

Hah. Here we are. The post where I get to talk about my favorite novels. And ten eight of them. Gush.

THE STAND

My favorite of all King’s novels. It drove me to read twenty of his novels and become obsessed with anything related to King. This epic book provides lots of room for discussion, especially about its characters, so I’m not sure why I haven’t brought it up that much in my blog, or to anyone at that matter.

The Stand begins with Captain Trips, a virus that wipes out most of the population…

No one can tell what goes on in between the person you were and the person you become. No one can chart that blue and lonely section of hell. There are no maps of the change. You just come out the other side.

Or you don’t.

7.png

There was an instance of my life when I was driven to madness by Tumblr. Shuuen no Shiori was one of the catapults that turned me into an academic in that wretched place. A terrible one. I just couldn’t stop talking about it. I made twenty-pages worth of character analysis, with bits of psychology and sociology thrown here and there. The funny thing is that it barely comes across my mind these days.

Shuuen no Shiori or Bookmark of Demise is a vocaloid series about four friends who got involved in a Demise Game where one of them is the fox. They have to kill the fox or else, all of them will die. It’s a wonderful psychological horror/drama with lots of unexpected twists and turns.

6.png

I’ve been a huge reader of Martha Grimes works since I was 15. I even wrote a letter to her once.

Her RY books is a series of mystery novels starring Richard Jury, our melancholic yet charming detective and his sidekick, Melrose Plant, the ex-earl who can buy pretty much anything with just a card and cheque and one of the funniest characters I have ever come across. A very fascinating mystery series with lots of quirky yet thoughtful characters (especially the dogs and children~). It’s always a delight to read.

5.png

Oh yes. I was one of those people who gawked hallelujah to this series, which spawned hundreds of YA Dystopian rip-offs and quadruple movies that are better off as trilogies. I thought it was pretty awesome book, and still is. It was an exciting read that kept me awake for days with a powerful ending.

4.png

A middle-grade book that more people should read and I ought to talk more about. It features a boy who could see witches and takes place in New York City, where magic is being replaced with machines. It’s a very colorful book with lots of promise. Now, if Moriarty could just start writing the next book

3

The third book/series that blew up my mind. The Discworld series couldn’t taught me enough about race, politics, jingoism, morality, and so much more but not without pulling off laughs. I used to contribute a few Disc stuff on Tumblr but haven’t talked much of it lately.

2.png

To Kill a Mockingbird was the second book that blew me away. A lot of explosions happened during my teenage years and thankfully enough, this book was one of them. I was fifteen when my eyes were opened about racism and, though the book didn’t explicitly said that word, I grew to learn that such things happened. Racism isn’t a common topic in our education (but patriotism and the English language are, funnily enough) so, after reading this book, I was simply stumped. 

mockingbird

Mockingbirds don’t do one thing but make music for us to enjoy. They don’t eat up people’s gardens, don’t nest in corncribs, they don’t do one thing but sing their hearts out for us. That’s why it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.

1

You guessed it. The first book that blew away my life and my world. I’ve been an avid fan of the series when I was twelve onwards and what it did to me was very, very life-changing. It taught me to think and listen. It taught me to flip over the chessboard and see things from another person’s point-of-view. It made me love puzzles, mysteries, and most of all, books. It taught me that space in reality that is reserved for magic and how to grasp that. It taught me how to look beyond the catbox. It taught me to empathize and to reason. How I miss this one.

It is easy to cast magic on other people. And believing in other people’s magic is not so difficult. The hardest thing is casting magic on yourself.

9 thoughts on “Eight Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough/In A While

  1. I think it’s pretty cool that you created graphics for your TTT post! If I was more creative, I would love to do the same. 😛 From your list, I’ve only read The Hunger Games and I loved it too. Which is funny because after reading that trilogy, I tried other dystopian series but couldn’t get into them. I think dystopian books aren’t really my thing and The Hunger Games was just an exception.

  2. I will be honest was drawn by your graphics 😂 was informed about your blog by Chachic 😊 love your creativity! Will need to find some time to go through your list when I have more time 😅 will return to comment with something with more substance on books later 😁

  3. I’ve always wanted to read a Stephen King book!! AHH ❤ And yes I agree with you on The Hunger Games, it was such a fun read ! I absolutelyy LOVE LOVE LOVE your banners btw :O So cooool

    • The Stand will never fail you. It’s long-ish (it’s huge) but if there is any novel of King I couldn’t recommend enough, that would be The Stand.

      You could check out The Long Walk, which is shorter, but really, really, and I mean really, good.

Leave a Reply

