LAC Review Ghibli and Disney

Film Fridays is where I review films and why you should watch them. This Friday, I invited my 8 and 13-year old cousins, L and A, to watch and review movies with me.

My Neighbor TotoroMY NEIGHBOR TOTORO (1988)

SYNOPSIS: Two kids befriend a cute demon.

L: It was sad. It was dramatic. And the older sister kept leaving her younger sister. She was a useless older sister.

A: It has a connection to our lives in various situations like the older sister who wants to keep her reputation as good as possible. Totoro caught my attention because it is magical and I like how Totoro made the two sisters’ relationship better and encouraged them to be strong despite their mother’s sickness. And I think Studio Ghibli is great for thinking-up the cat bus.

C: One of my beloved childhood films. My Neighbour Totoro is a film that values family and the power of imagination. And I especially love the rural setting.

Wreck-it RalphWRECK-IT RALPH (2012)

SYNOPSIS: A villain doesn’t want to be a villain anymore.

L: It’s about games and teamwork. And you should try and try; practice makes perfect. And you shouldn’t cheat, you shouldn’t bully and wreck things that aren’t yours. And do not judge other people’s decisions. Don’t be reckless.

A: I learned that you shouldn’t be jealous of what someone else has because it could push you in doing things that you shouldn’t be doing and changes you into something you are not. It had me asking questions like do game characters could see us players and stuff and I like the concept of the film where game characters could travel through extensions and die in other games.

C: L and A pretty much described what the movie is and why you should try it out. I’d just add that it’s a really well thought-out movie starring your beloved retro games.

Muppets Most WantedMUPPETS MOST WANTED (2014)

SYNOPSIS: Kermit and the gang travel around the world. Trouble ensures when top-criminal Constantine breaks out of prison.

L: It has lots of romance. It was funny. I didn’t learn anything. It was a joke.

A: Why were the policemen were weak there? They got defeated by a puppet? Whaat? But it’s amazing that they convinced Celine Dion and Usher to join a film like that. And I like the songs. It’s quite catchy and it was so funny.

C: I admit, I watched this move two times and still laughed. A++ film. Deserves an Oscar.

Muppets Most Wanted HD 2014[14-35-53]

Where’s the Usher? Usher! Usher! I need an Usher!

Muppets Most Wanted HD 2014[14-36-33]

Yes, I am the usher.

 

RatatouilleRATATOUILLE (2007)

SYNOPSIS: An abnormally literate and rat-phobic rat befriends the awkward Linguini and together, they battle against culinary politics.

L: They don’t like rats. It’s weird and unrealistic. The rat was better at cooking than the humans. It’s really unrealistic. Children shouldn’t watch it.

A: I agree to the quote ‘Anyone Can Cook’ because teamwork + hardwork = excellence. I don’t understand how Remy could control Linguni with the strands of his hair. I tried it on myself and it didn’t work. How did they think of that??

C: Sigh. It was an amazing film. No words could describe how awesome it was. Everything was just perfect. It’s a film both kids and adults would love, with an inspiring message to remember. Just wow.

4 thoughts on “LAC Review Ghibli and Disney

Leave a Reply

