Status

WWW -Secret Libraries, Werewolves, A Weird Girl, An Encyclopedia and Trains

The Three Ws are:


What are you currently reading?

1232

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruis Zafón

A boy tries to solve the mystery of Julian Carax, author of his favorite book.

I just started reading this and wow, did it leave me breathless. I already have a dozen quotes highlighted and I haven’t even reached a third of it. After my emotional outbursts (or in-bursts, that is) while reading The Last Policeman, The Shadow of the Wind was a warm welcome because indeed, reading it feels as if the words are embracing you. I don’t want to be dramatic here, but it really does feel like that.

“Every book, every volume you see here, has a soul. The soul of the person who wrote it and of those who read it and lived and dreamed with it. Every time a book changes hands, every time someone runs his eyes down its pages, its spirit grows and strengthens.”


What did you recently finished reading?

550844

Cycle of the Werewolf by Stephen King

A man who slaughters humans during his period lunar cycles (that are not accurate Lunar Cycles).

It’s not about Stephen King written by Cycle of the Werewolf. as interesting as that would be, but Stephen King does write about a werewolf. An educational book for children who’s still learning their months and seasons, complete with cute illustrations by Bern Wrightson.


What will you read next?

Weird Girl and What’s His Name by Megan Brothers

Angst. Teenagers. Pain. Nerds.

Saw Giovannard’s review of it and was instantly piqued. Check out her review here.

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

Magicians who do not use magic. Footnotes. There’s a prophecy but there’s damn too many footnotes to worry about.

The Shadow of the Wind was never in my TBR-list until yesterday, but that’s because I couldn’t read Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell for five minutes without dozing off. It started off as really interesting– two gentlemen talking about magic or perhaps, the lack of it, and I could imagine this pompous magic society controlled by dusty old men who do nothing but discuss and debate and sneer at those who do practice magic. I really like the idea of magic contained under theory and its gradual disintegration because of humanity’s lack of imagination. That is, until the footnotes started coming in, which requires more than imagination to finish. I think I spent more time reading the footnotes than reading the actual book. I could skip them but they appeared important to the story’s actual text so yeah, I have to read them all. It’s like reading an encyclopedia in-between, something I’m not very fond of.

King Solomon’s Carpet by Barbara Vines

Trains. 

I also started on this one! And decided to close it for The Shadow of the Wind… 

It took me quite awhile to get used with Vine’s style. So far, the book introduces a bunch of characters who are loosely connected with one another. 


 

IMG_1384-0

Hosted by Taking on a World of Words

21 thoughts on “WWW -Secret Libraries, Werewolves, A Weird Girl, An Encyclopedia and Trains

  1. I read The Shadow of the Wind a long time ago and in Spanish, but I remember being very impressed by it.
    Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell is back on my TBR after seeing the excellent BBC adaptation. I tried to read it a while back and abandoned it for the reasons you say here! I’m going to see if I can give it another try now that I know there are things later in the book that will make it worth sticking with it.
    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/01/27/www-wednesday-27th-january-2016/

  2. I loved Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, but the footnote format and the occasional dryness won’t be to everyone’s liking. You almost have to go into it thinking that it’s a work of historical fiction rather than a fantasy novel. I know a lot of people were really down on it when it was released because they expected “Harry Potter for grownups” when it’s more “British Politics with magic sometimes.”
    Here’s my WWW

  3. The Shadow Of The Wind has to be one of my favorite Spanish reads! I hope you keep enjoying it. Weird Girl And What’s His Name is on my TBR as well.

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

      • I really should do a reread soon! I’ve already read it many many times in both English and Spanish, but I never grow tired of it. 😀

      • I’m envious of you guys who know Spanish. So much is lost in translation and I want to read this book at its fullest but I can’t guhh. I ought try learning spanish some time. I know bits but they’re not enough to read a whole book >_<

      • I know the feeling; that’s how I felt the first time I tried to read it when I just started Uni. The English version is really good as well though.

  4. I read ‘The Shadow of the Wind’ in Spanish last year and really loved it! It gets even better at the end if you can believe it. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

  5. The Shadow of the Wind is a wonderful book! I really loved the writing style and totally agree with what you said, it really does feel like the literature is embracing you. Can’t wait to see what you think after finishing it.

    Here’s my WWW.

Leave a Reply

