WWW – Horror Stories, Gentleman Bastards, Abusive Rabbits, Pre-Apocalyptic Crime, Strange Men, & London Underground

The Three Ws are:


What are you currently reading?

h1

Songs of a Dead Dreamer by Thomas Ligotti

Short, horror stories.

I don’t usually finish reading short story collections. I tend to get stuck in one story and go no further. There’s something emotionally deadening and unfulfilling about them and reading an entire collection of the same author leaves me tired. So far, I’ve read three of Ligotti’s stories and I find myself enchanted with his style. His stories are quite but intense and his prose is rich in vocabulary, dancing and playing with your eyes and mind. Here’s one line from the book that I particularly loved because I could almost hear the words.

Capture.JPG

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

A bunch of con-artists scam rich people.

The Lies of Locke Lamora unfold slowly. Whenever I read it, it always feels like I’m figuring out some kind of intricate ornament. The book never runs out of details: Locke’s clothing, the floating barges, marketplaces and houses of Camorr, and so much more. While I don’t mind it, the amount of detail could be disruptive sometimes.

Facebook-20150930-085749

I like this part so much though


What did you recently finish reading?

h2

Alice by Christina Henry

A Wonderland full of trigger warnings.

Will be reviewing this one soon. I discovered the book from SciFi and Scary. You should check out her Alice review here.


What do you think you’ll read next?

h3.jpg

The Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters

A detective investigates a suicide case while the US is at the brink of an apocalypse.

I’ve been planning to read this a long while.

Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke

Magicians, something something, magic. A magical war??

King Solomon’s Carpet by Barbara Vine

????

Discovered the book from A Little Blog of Books and it certainly got my interest. Check out her review here.


 

15 thoughts on “WWW – Horror Stories, Gentleman Bastards, Abusive Rabbits, Pre-Apocalyptic Crime, Strange Men, & London Underground

    • Actually, I’m thinking of watching the BBC over reading the book. Out of laziness, I suppose (and BBC adaptations are usually amazing so…). Hope we get around reading the book.

      Thanks for checking out my list. Happy reading!

    • Thanks! I added Goodreads links on the titles so you could check them out for more info.

      I recommend Alice if you’re into dark novels, The Lies of Locke Lamora if you want a sophisticated fantasy and Songs of a Dead Dreamer if you’re into gothic horror.

      Happy holidays as well and happy reading 🙂

  1. Oooh, I adore The Lies of Locke Lamora. One of my all-time favorite series. I have a weakness for clever con men and fantasy anyway, but what really made it stand out for me was the way the non-linear storytelling worked there. Most of the time, two different timelines can make it hard to follow, but I thought the transitions were brilliantly timed to create suspense and drama.

    I hope you ended up liking it!

    • That’s a really interesting thing to point out. Honestly, I was a bit in-between about the book because of the amount of details that were excessive at times and often, disrupted the flow of the story. I didn’t consider its shifting timelines and now that you brought it up, I agree, it did made the novel far more exciting at the right places, such as with Salvaras and the midnighters. Damn, that had me going for awhile.

      I especially loved reading Locke’s childhood the most because he seemed to take a more active role as a kid than being pushed around as an adult. Locke is one unpredictable character

Leave a Reply

